World of Jazz 582

On this show an eclectic mix of all new releases from Dominic Miller, Arooj Aftab with Vijay Iyer and Shahzad Ismaily, Donny McCaslin, Leib, David Ake, Joe Lovano Trio Tapestry, and Aron Namenwirth with Lisa Hoppe  Joe Hertenstein Matt Mottel and Kevin Shea.

Show Intro 00:00

Dominic Miller “All Change” from Vagabond (ECM) 00:54

Arooj Aftab, Vijay Iyer, Shahzad Ismaily “To Remain To Return” from Love In Exile (Verve) 04:16

Donny McCaslin “Stria” from I Want More (Edition) 13:58

Leib “Sister Anagram” from Mother Hologram/Sister Anagram (Neue Numeral) 20:17

David Ake “Good Afternoon” from Green Thumb (Posi-tone) 26:30

Joe Lovano Trio Tapestry “Our Daily Bread” from Our Daily Bread (ECM) 29:47

Aron Namenwirth, Lisa Hoppe, Joe Hertenstein,Matt Mottel, Kevin Shea “Live In Berlin (Excerpt) from Live in Berlin (Darkfyre) 36:39

Donny McCaslin “Turbo” from I Want More (Edition) 49:25

David Ake “Green Thumb” from Green Thumb (Posi-tone) 55:11

Dominic Miller “Open Heart” from Vagabond (ECM) 1:00:00

Arooj Aftab, Vijay Iyer, Shahzad Ismaily “Shadow Forces” from Love In Exile (Verve) 1:06:31

Leib “Mother Hologram” from Mother Hologram/Sister Anagram (Neue Numeral) 1:20:29

Joe Lovano Trio Tapestry “Rhythm Spirit” from Our Daily Bread (ECM) 1:39:16

David Ake “Slingshot” from Green Thumb (Posi-tone) 1:44:52

Donny McCaslin “I Want More” from I Want More (Edition) 1:48:39

Joe Lovano Trio Tapestry “Grace Notes” from Our Daily Bread (ECM) 1:51:36


Dominic Miller – Vagabond (ECM)

Release: 21 April, 2023

Dominic Miller has been called “a great, serene storyteller” by Peter Ruedi in the Swiss weekly Weltwoche, and Vagabond, the guitarist’s third recording for ECM, might prove his most poetic tale to date. After Dominic’s debut Silent Light (2017), which captured the guitarist in solo performances with occasional percussive injections by Miles Bould, Absinthe (2019) found him expand his subtle instrumental sketches in a quintet lineup. For Vagabond the guitarist has partnered up with Ziv Ravitz on drums and Swedish pianist Jacob Karlzon, while long-time collaborator Fiszman returns on bass. Continuing in the collective spirit of his last album, here Dominic finds new ways to present his distinct approach in deeply felt quartet interplay.

The album is named after the eponymous poem by English poet John Masefield, which was very dear to Dominic’s late father. 

Arooj Aftab, Vijay Iyer, Shahzad Ismaily – Love In Exile (Verve)

Love In Exile asks you to step inside its sense of time, to stretch out alongside these delightful and unhurriedly unfolding songs. Profound impact is achieved with minimal instrumentation:  Vijay Iyer on pianos and electronics, Shahzad Ismaily on bass and Moog synth, and Arooj Aftab’s exquisite Urdu vocals. Subtle musical interrelationships build into moments of deeply felt drama. Shimmering keyboard melodies and stirring vocals, earthy basslines, and hypnotic drones: together they create an album of stunning gravitas and beauty. Love In Exile was recorded live in a New York City studio with minimal editing, and each listen reveals distinct aspects of this soundworld, sure as it will activate new feelings inside you. 

 Donny McCaslin – I Want More (Edition)

I Want More by Donny McCaslin is the groundbreaking and visionary album that challenges traditional boundaries and sets new standards in the world of jazz. This album is a powerful expression of McCaslin’s musical talent, showcasing his muscular sound, innovative compositions, and commitment to pushing the envelope both sonically and creatively. With its intricate details and unwavering vision, I Want More is a monumental and vital addition to the jazz canon, elevating the genre to a new dimension and smashing conventional perceptions of what a jazz album can be. Donny McCaslin – Tenor Saxophone, Flutes | Jason Lindner- Synthesizers, Wurlitzer Tim Lefebvre – Bass | Mark Guiliana – Drums

Leib – Mother Hologram/Sister Anagram (Neue Numeral)

For four years Leib have been persistently researching their band sound, tinkering with new textures and sounds live and in rehearsal rooms, searching for ways to rethink improvised music. Now their first LP “Mother. Hologram / Sister Anagram” is being released on the Argentinian label Neue Numeral. Leib is a Swiss trio, consisting of Kevin Sommer (clarinet), Cyrill Ferrari (guitar) and Lukas Briner (drums). The band creates its music collectively, with the three musicians exhausting the repertoire of their instruments, expanding it with speakers and tape recorders, and blending their sounds into a new common sonic language.

The album consists of two complementary sides. At times Leib sounds like a machine about to explode, then again like the birdsong of the underworld. A music that contains many possibilities and yet concentrates on the essentials.

David Ake – Green Thumb (Posi-tone)

Pianist David Ake tends to his musical garden with a “Green Thumb” of unstoppable melodic sensibility on his seventh release for Posi-Tone Records.

Along with the capable accompaniment of saxophonist Tony Malaby, bassist Boris Kozlov and drummer Rudy Royston, Ake continues growing steadily in the direction of his 2018 release “Humanities” by making bold statements of purpose with his stunning musicianship and an exciting program of original compositions.

Joe Lovano Trio Tapestry – Our Daily Bread (ECM)

The third album from Joe Lovano’s Trio Tapestry extends its spacious and lyrical approach, with deep listening and intense focus. “Our Daily Bread is fueled by the rhythm spirit of expression that projects the mysterious world of music that lies ahead,” says master saxophonist Lovano in his liner note, addressing his elegantly fluid pieces and imploring ballads. In the course of his long life in jazz, Joe Lovano has addressed the full range of the music, playing in-the-tradition and beyond it. Trio Tapestry, with Marilyn Crispell and Carmen Castaldi, is a vehicle for some of his most personal work. As Joe has emphasized: “This is not a band that starts from the beat. The momentum is in the melody and the harmonic sequence. And rhythm evolves within each piece in a very free flowing manner.”

Aron Namenwirth, Lisa Hoppe, Joe Hertenstein,Matt Mottel, Kevin Shea – Live in Berlin (Darkfyre) 

Recorded in Berlin 11/8/21 by Peer Soehring, mixed and mastered by Jon Rosenberg

Released March 31, 2023

Aron Namenwirth guitar, Lisa Hoppe bass, Joe Hertenstein drums, Matt Mottel Keytar

Kevin Shea drums

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s