World of Jazz 581

On this show a mix of old and new with  music from Rudy Royston, Luc Houtkamp with Simon Nabatov and Martin Blume, The Keith Tippett Group, Food, Elton Dean with Steve Miller and Pip Pyle, Eric Dolphy, Evan Parker with Barry Guy Paul Lytton and Peter Evans, and The Sunny Four which comprises Tim Berne, Aurora Nealand, David Torn, and, Ches Smith.

Rudy Royston – Morning – Day (Greenleaf)

Rudy Royston, first-call drummer with Bill Frisell, Dave Douglas, JD Allen, Rudresh Mahanthappa and a host of others, is proud to present DAY, his fifth release for Greenleaf Music. DAY is the second outing from Flatbed Buggy, the adventurous, sonically varied small group that Royston premiered on the acclaimed 2018 album of that name. Marked by the low-register richness of John Ellis on bass clarinet and Hank Roberts on cello, the tonal subtlety and harmonic depth of Gary Versace on accordion and the virtuosic authority of Joe Martin on bass, the band debuted with a musical evocation of Royston’s youth spent in rural Texas. On DAY, with the same lineup intact, Royston captures the turbulent emotional landscape of a day under quarantine

Luc Houtkamp, Simon Nabatov, Martin Blume – The Confronting Part 1 & 2 –  Encounters (Leo Records)

Recorded Live March 23 2014 Loft, Köln 

Luc Houtkamp: tenor saxophone, alto saxophone 

Simon Nabatov: piano

Martin Blume: drums

The Keith Tippett Group – Thoughts To Geoff – How Long This Time? (British Progressive Jazz) 

Featuring the classic KTG frontline of Marc Charig, Nick Evans and Elton Dean with rhythm section appearances by British jazz luminaries Jeff Clyne, Trevor Tomkins, Roy Babbington and Bryan Spring.

Six previously unreleased live studio tracks were recorded for broadcast purposes in January and August of 1970, between the group’s two now seminal British jazz/rock releases for the Polydor and Vertigo labels respectively, 1969’s ‘You Are Here… I Am There’ and 1971’s ‘Dedicated to You but You Weren’t Listening’.

Food – Tobiko – Quiet Inlet (ECM)

THOMAS STRØNEN  drums, live electronics

IAN BALLAMY  tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone

CHRISTIAN FENNESZ  guitar, electronics  

2010 ECM

Live recordings, performances captured at Oslo’s Blå club and the Molde Festival, in 2007 and 2008

Elton Dean, Steve Miller & Pip Pyle – Pilgrims’s Hope – Home Brewed  (British Progressive Jazz) 

Elton Dean – saxes

Steve Miller – piano

Pip Pyle – drums & percussion

Recorded in Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire, UK, December 1976. Private session. Previously unheard. Available in digital format and limited edition CD.

The amazing lost Dean, Miller, Pyle private tapes from 1976: featuring the very first recorded meeting of these three extraordinary pioneering talents of British Jazz/Rock, performing four magical co-composed pieces, none of which have ever been issued in any form.

This album was originally intended to be released by Mike King’s highly regarded Reel Recordings label. Sadly, Mike passed away before the project was completed and consequently the session has instead sat on a shelf of the esteemed British jazz collector and historian Philippe Renaud for the past decade.

Eric Dolphy – Serene – Out There (Prestige)

The follow-up album to Outward Bound, Eric Dolphy’s second effort for the Prestige/New Jazz label (and later remastered by Rudy Van Gelder) was equally praised and vilified for many reasons. At a time when the “anti-jazz” tag was being tossed around, Dolphy’s nonlinear, harshly harmonic music gave some critics grist for the grinding mill.

ERIC DOLPHY  alto saxophone, bass clarinet, flute




Evan Parker, Barry Guy, Paul Lytton, Peter Evans – Scene I – Scenes In The House Of Music (Clean Feed)

Saxophonist Evan Parker, bassist Barry Guy and drummer Paul Lytton have playing together in one form or another since 1972. Their longtime association has created improvised magic, and their appearances are legendary. In 2009, the trio shared the stage with trumpet phenom Peter Evans at Casa da Música, and this impressive recording is the result.

Recorded September 12, 2009 

The Keith Tippett Group – How Long This Time? – How Long This Time? (British Progressive Jazz) 

Food – Astral – Mercurial Balm (ECM)

IAIN BALLAMY  saxophones, electronics

CHRISTIAN FENNESZ guitar electronics 

THOMAS STRØNEN  drums, percussion, electronics

Recorded 2010 and 2011 at Rainbow Studio, Oslo, Cheltenham Jazz Festival and Victoria National Jazz Scene, Oslo

2012 ECM release

The Sunny Four – Mystic (Excerpt) – Mystic (Screwgun)

Aurora Nealand – accordion, Bb clarinet, voice & tronics

Ches Smith -drums & tronics

David Torn – el guitar,modifiers & live-multi-looping

Tim Berne – alto saxophone

Recorded live by Beau Gordon at Solar Myth in Philadelphia March 10th. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s