Aural Delights on the Overflow 159

On this show new releases from The Room, Ember Rev, Anatomy of Habit, Neon Kittens, Robert Forster, 2 Lost Souls, Christine Tobin, and Ayumi Ishito & The Spacemen plus selections from the archive from Dave Graney & The MistLY, and, Peter Hammill.

The Room – The Drift – Restless Fate

After a lengthy hiatus, Liverpool post-punk stalwarts THE ROOM are back with their first new recordings in 38 years. Formed in 1979 by DAVE JACKSON and BECKY STRINGER, The Room recorded 4 sessions for John Peel, 2 sessions for Janice Long’s BBC Radio One programme, and appeared on ‘The Whistle Test’ and ‘Saturday Live’, in addition to working with producers TOM VERLAINE (Television) and JOHN PORTER (Roxy Music, The Smiths, Billy Bragg, Microdisney).

Their new ‘Restless Fate’ LP picks up where the band left off. At times shimmering, at times haunting, their melodic blend of progressive, alternative pop and sultry post-punk is just as relevant and captivating as when they broke up in 1985. A man’s search for meaning and the dysfunction of the human condition, relentless optimism lays at the core of this record. Recorded and mixed at Liverpool’s Ark Studios and co-produced by STEVE POWELL (Michael Head & the Red Elastic Band, Autour De Lucie, Echo & The Bunnymen), the album is released on 9×9 Records.

Ember Rev – Off We Go – In Super-8

The original release from Ember Rev has been remade by Dan Ecclestone who plays the bulk of the instruments. German Shepherd Records

Anatomy Of Habit – Breathing Through Bones – Black Openings

Long-running experimental post-punk/doom outfit    released their fourth album, Black Openings, on February 24th. The follow-up to their 2021-22 album, Even If It Takes A Lifetime, was recorded with Sanford Parker, who has been working with the band in the studio for over a decade, including on their 2014 Relapse Records-issued Ciphers + Axioms.  

Neon Kittens – 451 – No Drugs Required

Debut album from the York based lo-fi punk/post punk/no wave quartet

Dave Graney & The MistLY – The Sheriff Of Hell – Rock N Roll Is Where I Hide

Another remade track – originally on the The Devil Drives album in 1997

Robert Forster – There’s A Reason To Live – The Candle And The Flame

Another track from Roberts new album

2 Lost Souls – Yesterdays Gone – 52 Singles

Number 14 of 52

Ember Rev – Never Wanted This – In Super-8

Christine Tobin – Callow – Returning Weather

Award-winning vocalist and songwriter returns with captivating new album blending song and spoken word with influences from folk, jazz and 20th century art song

Ayumi Ishito & The Spacemen – Liquid Bends Light – Vol. 2

The Spacemen is an elegant approximation of Ayumi’s interstellar imagination. Where the first edition of this project was more upbeat, propelled by an exploratory excitement, the second installment is even more reflective, heavily reliant on ambient open space The album will be available in CD and digital editions on April 28, 2023.

Neon Kittens – Six Inch Nails on your Footprints – No Drugs Required

Peter Hammill – Film Noir (Single Version) – Patience

13th studio album by Peter Hammill. It was released in August 1983 on Naive Records It was the second album to feature the collective known as the “K Group” (the first was Enter K) — Hammill, drummer Guy Evans and bassist Nic Potter (Hammill’s former colleagues in VdGG), and guitarist John Ellis (of The Vibrators and Peter Gabriel’s band). This is taken from the K Group Box Set released in 2019.

The Room – Time Comes  – Restless Fate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s