Aural Delights on the Overflow 158

On this show music from Lucy Kruger and the Lost Boys, Robert Forster, TFS, Quiz Show, Dave Graney and the MistLY, 2 Lost Souls, Bouquet of Dead Crows, RJ Archer and the Painful Memories, Good Intentions, Eugene Chadbourne and The Fall

Lucy Kruger and the Lost Boys – Heaving – Heaving

The title track of their imminent fourth album (now available for pre-order and out on April 8th on Unique Records), this ethereal ambient trip-pop offering follows their recently-released track ‘Burning Building’ featured a couple of weeks back. Further track  ‘Stereoscope’ is featured later in the show

Robert Forster – Always – The Candle and the Flame

Another track from Roberts’ new album

TFS – Ann – Submersive Behaviour

Another track from their latest EP/Mini Album

Quiz Show – Sound Of Kissing – Sound Of Kissing

American indie rock trio Quiz Show – involving members of legendary DC alternative

rock band Shudder To Think, Guided By Voices and The Dambuilders – has released

their new single ‘Sound of Kissing’, a powerhouse preview of their their eponymous

debut album, due out March 17 via Montclair, NJ-based Magic Door Record Label. The band s involves Shudder To Think’s Chris Matthews and Jesse Krakow, together with drummer Kevin March (Guided By Voices, The Dambuilders). Earlier, bassist Jesse Krakow had taken over from the original bassist Frank Gibbons and, more recently, Joe Billy has replaced Kevin March, whose drumming features throughout this album.

Dave Graney & The MistLY – I’m Gonna Release Your Soul – Rock and Roll Is Where I Hide

Another old Coral Snakes tune given a makeover – originally on the 1993 album Night of the Wolverine

2 Lost Souls – Glass Ceiling – 52 Singles Project

Number 15 of 52 

Bouquet of Dead Crows – Kaiju Hijinks – Live at the Parlour Kettering 8/8/2022

A Swansong from the Dead Crows who played their last gig last night

RJ Archer & the Painful Memories – I Can’t Lose You – Single

R.J. Archer & the Painful Memories are a hard rock band from Cambridgeshire formed in July 2019 by old friends – Richard Archer (guitar, vocals), Roger James (bass) and Ben Kingsbury (drums). They count Creedence, ZZ Top and Status Quo amongst their influences. In September 2022, Jimmy Cordery joined the band on percussion.

Temporarily thwarted by the pandemic they recorded their debut album ‘Hot Mess’ over two years. Two singles, ‘Who Am I Supposed To Love Now’ and ‘A Little Mercy’ were released between June and July 2021 and received a great deal of airplay on UK rock radio stations. ‘Hot Mess’ was finally released on September 24th 2021 to a warm response. Their live performances have also drawn praise, including a set at the first annual Salty Dog blues and country festival at the Cambridge Junction in August 2022. 

The boys are currently working on their second album ‘Horseplay!’, which is being planned for a September 2023 release. The first single from the new album is ‘I Can’t Lose You’ and will be available through Spotify, Apple and all the usual places on March 20th 2023. 

Good Intentions – Songe/Painful 1993 – Devotion Comes Easy to Me

Good Intentions is an instrumental rock band that grew up in the 90s and hasn’t got over it. 

The quintet enjoyed a long run of successful and buzz-worthy shows around New York City right up until the COVID-19 pandemic shut down the city. Fast forward to the summer of 2021, when the members felt safe to gather again, the met again in Ditmas Park to rehearse for their debut album, recorded in the Lower East Side at Rivington 66 by engineer Philip Weinrobe (Adrianna Lenker, Buck Meek, Alanis Morissete, Ceramic Dog). Sam Decker: Saxophone/Compositions (of Sfyria Trio, Secret Sibling), Gregg Belisle-Chi: Guitar/Compositions (of Tim Berne, Reid Anderson), Dov Manski: Keyboards (of People’s Champs, Sara Serpa) , Luke Bergman: Electric Bass (of Bill Frisell, Cuong Vu) , David Flaherty: Drums (of Cuddle Magic, Green & Glass) . Self released on April 21st.

Lucy Kruger and the Lost Boys – Stereoscope – Heaving 

Eugene Chadbourne – So Much  – What’s Been Baking

Ramble is excited to announce that veteran avant-garde guitarist and improvisor Eugene Chadbourne’s ‘What’s Been Baking’ will was released on Feb 24. Drawing on blues, folk, free jazz, and Appalachian traditions, the good doctor returns to the stripped down format of solo guitar and banjo for an album of genuine outsider free folk – filled with his Inimitable and frenetic playing and irreverent humour. 

The Fall – Fantastic Life – Hip Priest and Kamerads

The Fall at the height of their powers in 1981 with the twin drummer attack. Originally the b-side of the Lie Dream Of A Casino Soul single.  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s