World of Jazz 529

A focus on the great Wayne Shorter featuring tracks as a leader plus performances with Art Blakey, Weather Report, Joe Zawinul, Freddie Hubbard, Miles Davis, and Lee Morgan.

  • Show Intro 00:00
  • Wayne Shorter “The All Seeing Eye” from The All Seeing Eye 00:33
  • Art Blakey “It’s Only a Paper Moon” from Swiss Radio Days Jazz Series, Vol. 6: Lausanne 1960, 2nd Set 11:30
  • Weather Report “Between The Thighs” from Tale Spinnin’ 24:10
  • Joe Zawinul “Double Image” from Zawinul 34:22
  • Wayne Shorter “Over Shadow Hill Way” from Beyond The Sound Barrier 44:27
  • Wayne Shorter “Calm” from Odyssey To Iska 56:53
  • Freddie Hubbard “Body And Soul” from The Body & The Soul 1:00:25
  • Miles Davis “Sanctuary” from The Lost Quintet 1:05:34
  • Lee Morgan “God Bless The Child” from Standards 1:30:50
  • Lee Morgan “Search For The New Land” from Search For The New Land 1:38:06
  • Wayne Shorter “I Didn’t Know What Time It Was” from Second Genesis 1:54:52


The All Seeing Eye – the ninth album as a leader, recorded on October 15, 1965, and released on the Blue Note label in 1966. The album features performances by Shorter with trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, trombonist Grachan Moncur III, alto saxophonist James Spaulding, pianist Herbie Hancock, bassist Ron Carter and drummer Joe Chambers.

Swiss Radio Days Jazz Series, Vol. 6: Lausanne 1960, 2nd Set – The 1960 version of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers (which consisted of the drummer/leader, trumpeter Lee Morgan, tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter, pianist Bobby Timmons, and bassist Jymie Meritt) was very well documented.

Tale Spinnin’ is the fifth studio album by Weather Report, recorded and released in 1975, featuring the addition of Leon “Ndugu” Chancler on the drums. Ndugu was recruited after JoeZawinul heard him play with Carlos Santana. Weather Report was recording next door to Ndugu in the studio, and Chancler was asked to join them for a recording session. That session ended up lasting a week and produced Tale Spinnin’. After the record, Ndugu was asked to join the band as a permanent member, but declined in favor of continuing to work with Carlos Santana.

Zawinul is a studio album recorded in 1970 by Zawinul performing music for two electric pianos, flute, trumpet, soprano saxophone, two contra basses, and percussion. Conceptually, sonically, this is really the first Weather Report album in all but name. The track Double Image would also be featured in the Miles Davis Sessions around time of Bitches Brew.

Beyond The Sound Barrier –   live album released by Verve Records in 2005. It features Shorter’s ‘Footprints’ Quartet with pianist Danilo Perez, bassist John Patitucci and drummer Brian Blade.

The Body & The Soul – recorded in 1963 as Freddie Hubbards second and last release on the Impulse! label. It features performances by Hubbard with an orchestra and string section, and with a septet featuring Curtis Fuller, Eric Dolphy, Wayne Shorter, Cedar Walton, Reggie Workman and Louis Hayes.

The Lost Quintet – Miles and his Quintet were on their 1969 European tour, promoting the Bitches Brew album.Recorded on 11th May 1969 in Rotterdam, the recording highlights Miles ever expanding progression in sound, developing on his Jazz based roots into the more prominent Jazz/Rock fusion style that he latterly became known for.

Standards – Lee Morgan album recorded on January 13, 1967, but not released until 1998; it contains performances by Morgan, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, Billy Higgins, James Spaulding, Pepper Adams and Mickey Roker, with arrangements by Duke Pearson.

Search For The New Land – 1964 recording shelved until 1966 – one of his finest albums –
Lee Morgan – trumpet, Wayne Shorter – tenor sax, Herbie Hancock – piano, Grant Green – guitar
Reggie Workman – bass, Billy Higgins – drums

Second Genesis – the second album by Wayne Shorter recorded by the Vee-Jay label in 1960 but not released until 1974. It was his second session as leader, performing with his Jazz Messengers boss Art Blakey on drums, pianist Cedar Walton and bassist Bob Cranshaw. Walton joined Blakey’s Messengers the following year, following the departure of Bobby Timmons.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s