World of Jazz 523

  • Show Intro 00:00
  • Kris Davis “Travel Far” from Life Span (Fresh Sound) 00:40
  • Kris Davis “Saturn Return” from Aeriol Piano (Clean Feed) 12:22
  • Kris Davis, Ingrid Laubrock, Tyshawn Sorey “Slow Burn” from Paradoxical Frog (Clean Feed) 22:20
  • Ingrid Laubrock Anti-House “Roulette of the Cradle” from Roulette of the Cradle (Intakt) 36:30
  • Tom Rainey Obbligato “What’s New?” from Float Upstream (Intakt) 46:44
  • Devin Gray “Transatlantic Transitions” from RelativE ResonancE (Skirl) 1:00:00
  • Kris Davis Trio “Whirly Swirly” from Waiting For You To Grow (Clean Feed) 1:08:00
  • Kris Davis “Reflections” from Diatom Ribbons (Pyroclastic) 1:23:28
  • Kris Davis, Craig Taborn “Sing Me Softly Of The Blues Interruptions Two” from Octopus (Pyroclastic) 1:35:56
  • Kris Davis & Dave Douglas “Musicophilia” from Musicophilia (Greenleaf) 1:51:30


Kris Davis is a Canadian jazz pianist and composer. This show looks at her work both as a leader and her contributions to the work of other musicians.

Life Span – 2003 – Sextet, with Tony Malaby (tenor sax, soprano sax), Russ Johnson (flugelhorn, trumpet), Jason Rigby (tenor sax, soprano sax, clarinet, bass clarinet), Eivind Opsvik (bass), Jeff Davis (drums)

Aeriol Piano – 2009 – Solo album

Paradoxical Frog – 2009 – As part of the band Paradoxical Frog; trio, with Ingrid Laubrock (tenor sax), Tyshawn Sorey (drums)

Roulette of the Cradle – 2014 – the third recording by Ingrid’s Anti-House quintet, the first band that she formed on her relocation to New York. With guitarist Mary Halvorson, Kris Davis, bassist John Hébert and drummer Tom Rainey.

Float Upstream -2017 – the second with Rainey’s band Obbligato, which freely interpreted jazz standards. Ralph Alessi – trumpet, Ingrid Laubrock – saxophones, Kris Davis – piano, Drew Gress – bass, Tom Rainey – drums

RelativE ResonancE – 2015 – Chris Speed-tenor sax/clarinet, Kris Davis-piano, Chris Tordini-bass
Devin Gray-drums/composition

Waiting For You To Grow – 2013 – Trio, with John Hebert (bass), Tom Rainey (drums)

Diatom Ribbons – 2019 – Esperanza Spalding (voice), J.D. Allen (tenor saxophone), Tony Malaby (tenor saxophone), Ches Smith (vibraphone), Nels Cline (guitar), Marc Ribot (guitar), Trevor Dunn (electric bass), Val Jeanty (turntable), Terri Lyne Carrington (drums)

Octopus – 2016 – duo with Craig Taborn

Musicophilia – 2019 – This piece was created during an event hosted by the Psychology Department at The New School For Social Research. It was the first time Kris and Dave had played together. Kris is, among other things, using a EBow to create vibrations within the piano on this piece. Dave is using various dismantlings of the trumpet and its tubes. A susbcriber special.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s