Aural Delights on the Overflow 123

In this weeks show new albums from The Dream Syndicate, Weimar, Ryan Michael Patterson, Aural Nihil, The Utopia Strong, Salem Trials, Thus Owls, and Horsegirl . There is also the first release in the new 2 Lost Souls singles project which will last for a year . I’ve also got an archive classic from Kim Salmon and the Surrealists.

  • The Dream Syndicate – Where I’ll Stand – Ultraviolet Battle Hymns and True Confessions : The brand-new album from The Dream Syndicate blends vintage Krautrock, Eno-like ambience, Neu-inspired rhythmic groove and a Californian sun baked sheen into their classic psychedelic, melodic, hue. Featuring singer/songwriter/guitarist Steve Wynn, drummer Dennis Duck, bassist Mark Walton, lead guitarist Jason Victor plus their newest member Chris Cacavas on keyboards, plus guest appearances from Stephen McCarthy (of The Long Ryders) and Marcus Tenney’s expressive sax and trumpet work.
  • Weimar – The Sociopath – Dancing On A Volcano – debut album from the Manchester band, ‘Dancing On A Volcano’ takes the listener on an unpredictable excursion with songs exploring socio-political and personal challenges of our modern age, with themes ranging from gentrification and cultural erosion, unsavoury characters masquerading as respectable public figures, the grit beneath the glamour of society, the contrast between polished façades and the decadence within. Through its maelstrom of musical styles and influences, this album paints a brutal and honest picture of human nature and culture in the context of the 2020s.
  • 2 Lost Souls – Commodification – the first in an ambitious 52 single project
  • Kim Salmon & The Surrealists – You Got Layers – Ya Gotta Let Me Do My Thing One time leader of the much revered swamped-out noise merchants The Scientists and former axegrinder/songwriter for the most brutal (and sometimes beautiful) Beasts Of Bourbon, Kim Salmon has also been doing his own thing since about 1985 with help from his mighty Surrealists. Having released a bunch of classic albums such as Hit Me With The Surreal Feel, Sin Factory, Just Because You Can’t See It Doesn’t Mean It Isn’t There on the very cool Red Eye label, Kim Salmon & The Surrealists jumped aboard the ‘Cow in 1997 to release what many considered to be their best album to date in Ya Gotta Let Me Do My Thing. Kim has recently revisited the whole album in a live setting thus prompting its extraction from the archive.
  • Ryan Michael Patterson – Crime City Collapse – Apocalypticism : The debut instrumental album from the Louisville-based musician and visual artist. Best known for his work with Fotocrime, the post-punk group he currently fronts, and Coliseum, the trailblazing hardcore punk band he founded and led from 2003-2015, Patterson steps into thrilling new territory on Apocalypticism.
  • Salem Trials – In The Dark – Hate Rock N Roll : “After discovering the forgotten demo of ‘Cards’ which inspired us to write and record the (planned but never completed) album ‘Love Joan Jett’ a couple of months ago… we decided to remaster the unreleased album that went with it (recorded in 2018), ‘Hate Rock N Roll’. However, instead, we decided to re-imagine the album and went with all new songs and recordings. In a perfect world… this would be a 10″ record on either cyan or magenta clear vinyl. As it is this world, it’s just the usual self-release on Bandcamp! Probably our best album yet (and shorter songs this time, since some of our last songs got far too long for their own good!)”
  • Aural Nihil – Black Cherry Chapstick – Aural Nihil : New project from Emmanuele Gattuso
  • The Utopia Strong – The Islanders – International Treasure : Second album – featuring the trio of Steve Davis, Kavus Torabi and Mike York 
  • Thus Owls – Balconies – Who Would Hold You If the Sky Betrayed Us? :Thus Owls have returned with an expansive, audacious and beautiful new double-album: a saxophone-studded journey by one of Canada’s most daring acts, an explosion of improv, poetry and visionary rock’n’roll that seeks to understand what it means to be—and belong. Founded in Stockholm, based in Montreal, Thus Owls is the ongoing creative project of Erika and Simon Angell. The duo’s fifth album sees them continue their tradition of reinvention, from their early indie records to 2015’s synth-laden Black Matter EP and 2018’s The Mountain That We Live Upon, which featured an ensemble of four guitarists. Here they turned to long-time collaborator Samuel Joly (drums), but also to a trio of saxophone players: Claire Devlin (tenor), Adam Kinner (tenor) and Jason Sharp (bass sax), each of whom write and perform as independent composers. The goal was not just to feature soloists, or a glossy smear of horns, but to invent a startling, aggressive new musical language—one which reflected the Angells’ roots in jazz and improv, and their dream of a vivid, interwoven sound.
  • Horsegirl – Anti Glory – Versions of Modern Performance : Their debut full-length. Penelope Lowenstein (guitar, vocals), Nora Cheng (guitar, vocals), and Gigi Reece (drums) do everything collectively, from songwriting to trading vocal duties and swapping instruments to sound and visual art design. “We made [this album] knowing so fully what we were trying to do,” the band says. “We would never pursue something if one person wasn’t feeling good about it. But also, if someone thought something was good, chances are we all thought it was good.
  • Ryan Michael Patterson – International Airspace
  • Weimar – Faded Queen Of The Night
  • The Dream Syndicate – Beyond Control
  • Salem Trials – Dead Elvis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s