Aural Delights on the Overflow 98

  • The Harveys “Fast Way To Heaven” from Beyond Our Kennel (2021)
    • A brand new track from The Harveys from the German Shepherd Records charity compilation album
  • Charlie Marshall “Entanglement” from Change Has Got To Come (2021)
    • A great new album from Melbourne’s Charlie Marshall finds him keeping it in the family with support from Louie Marshall on tenor and alto sax, keyboards, guitar
  • The Resonant Rogues “Ridgelines” from The Magnolia Sessions (2021)
    • The fourth instalment of the new Magnolia Sessions season now sees release, with a record from THE RESONANT ROGUES, whose dark Appalachian folk paints a picture of their lives in the mountains of Western North Carolina and on the road. Anchored by the songwriting duo of Sparrow (banjo, accordion) and Keith Smith (guitar), the duo has traveled the byways and highways of America and crossed the oceans with instruments in tow. From riding freight trains to building their own homestead, the pair are no strangers to blazing unconventional trails. At once rooted and adventurous, each song tells a story of real experiences, friendships, and challenges.
  • Robin Guthrie “The Empress” from Riviera (2021)
    • Following the October release of his ‘Mockingbird Love’ EP and the November release of his full-length album ‘Pearldiving’ (his first album in nine years) comes another unique release by legendary Scottish music sculptor Robin Guthrie – the 4-track ‘Riviera’ EP, a collection completed earlier this year..
  • Telefís “Falun Gong Dancer” from Falun Gong Dancer (2021)
    • Producer/ mixer/ composer Garret “Jacknife” Lee (U2, R.E.M., Modest Mouse, The Cars, The Killers, Snow Patrol, Crystal Castles, Editors, Taylor Swift) and singer-songwriter Cathal Coughlan, frontman of Microdisney and The Fatima Mansions and acclaimed for his many solo works (including his latest solo album ‘Song Of Co-Aklan’) present ‘Falun Gong Dancer’ – their new single under the moniker Telefís (the Irish Gaelic word for Television, pronounced Tele-feesh). “Falun Gong Dancer’ is the latest taste of their debut album ‘a hAon’ (Number One), which will be released on February 11 via London-based Dimple Discs,
  • The Janitors “Bellwellhell” from Noisolation Vol. 2 (2021)
    • In March 2020 The Janitors from Stockholm had their new album written and studio time booked in the north of Sweden – ready to unleash their latest shamanic fuzz meltdowns and follow up to the Horn Ur Marken album from 2017. Then corona hit and everything changed. The band figured they would go down into their own studio to work on those tunes some more until things passed over but instead they ended up recording other songs that turned into Noisolation Sessions Vol. 1 released in 2020 including some of the best songs The Janitors ever produced. As corona kept a tight grip on us all the band didn’t really know what to do next. So they started to record again and the result is Noisolation Sessions vol. 2, a collection of eight dark and noisy songs that are not aimed at the faint of heart. Instead The Janitors display a hypnotic, monotone and evil drone that fuzzes in all the right places. The Noisolation Sessions Vol. 2 LP is a co-release between Cardinal Fuzz (UK), Little Cloud Records (US) and Bad Afro Records (Denmark).
  • Dave Graney and Clare Moore “Wilco Got No Wilco (Demo Version)” from Everything Was Funny (2021)
    • An extra track from the recent album sessions
  • Witches Broom “Tell Your Boyfriend” from Witches Broom(2022) Witches Broom (2022)
    • Recorded by the band direct to 8-track tape in a basement behind a cemetery, nine timeless teenage anthems and jukebox rippers tackle love and drugs with a counterculture sneer and trickster’s wink. Fueled by Savage Sam’s fiery guitar and Farfisa leads, vocal snarl, and arsenal of self-built custom analog effects pedals, the trio offers fresh and lucid hallucinations of various Seeds-y, Fugs’ed up strains of American underground rock and freakbeat rave-ups at the farthest edge of the British Invasion. Crucially, the group laces each composition with more than enough personality to ensure that this joyful noise couldn’t be coming from anybody else’s garage. An upbeat singles band to the core. Labels: Cardinal Fuzz (Europe), Flower Room Records (USA) Release Date: 21st January 2022
  • Moff Skellington “The Shend Brings Word” from Beyond Our Kennel (2021)
  • The Cravats “Precinct” from Precinct (1980)
  • The Screaming Love Collective “Ritual” from Beyond Our Kennel (2021)
  • Charlie Marshall “Natural Flair” from Change Has Got To Come (2021)
  • Burning Spear “City Blood Africans” from Hail H.I.M. (1980)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s