Aural Delights on the Overflow 83

  • The Battery Farm – Roy Keane Isn’t Real
  • Tropical Fuck Storm – The Greatest Story Ever Told
  • Bouquet of Dead Crows – Standing On The Precipice
  • Wolves in the Throne Room – Eostre
  • Deafheaven – Great Mass of Color
  • Bob Andy – Ghetto Stays In The Mind
  • Kim Salmon – Self Replicator
  • Shannon & The Clams – Do I Wanna Stay
  • Brian Eaton – Not Where, But When
  • Moff Skellington – One Shoe On and One Shoe Off
  • The Murlocs – Francesca
  • Jed – Fat Bottom Bass (Jed’s Acid Remix)
  • Ciccada – Whose To Decide?
  • Lee “Scratch” Perry – Jah

  • THE BATTERY FARM – the band says “Our new single Roy Keane Isn’t Real is out on all streaming platforms 4th September. Have you ever met Roy Keane? We’ve never met him. Where is he whenever there’s something going on? Not with you, that’s for sure. How come he always fails to materialise? How come you only ever see him on TV, where FAKE NEWS is rife? Think, yeah? This is a song about conspiracy theories and the logic behind them. Roy Keane Isn’t Real is the 2nd single from our forthcoming 2nd EP Dirty Den’s March of Suffering, which is released on all platforms on Blindside Records 15th October.
  • TROPICAL FUCK STORM – third album from this great Australian band finds them as uncompromising as ever
  • BOUQUET OF DEAD CROWS – preview track from the forthcoming release of the second half of their Hemispheres album
  • WOLVES IN THE THRONE ROOM – Two decades into their journey as ritualistic black metal conjurers, Wolves In The Throne Room have emerged from the forest with Primordial Arcana, their most majestic album to date, and their first release via Century Media Records (outside of USA and Canada) and Relapse Records (USA and Canada) out August 20th. Primordial Arcana is the band’s first completely self-contained work: In addition to composition and performance, brothers Aaron and Nathan Weaver alongside guitarist Kody Keyworth handled all aspects of recording, producing and mixing at their own Owl Lodge Studios in the woods of Washington state.
  • DEAFHEAVEN – Over the course of their first ten years, Deafheaven’s music vacillated between tormented beauty and harmonic rage—a hybrid of black metal’s malice and shoegaze’s sublime wall-of-sound. On their fifth album, Infinite Granite, Deafheaven are no longer toying with the juxtaposition of pitting metallic abrasion against swirling grandeur. Quite the opposite: Infinite Granite is a bold and brave leap forward, a gorgeous and invigorating album brimming with pomp and panache. In the context of their catalog, it takes on a whole other layer of defiant beauty. Ultimately, Infinite Granite is Deafheaven’s most goosebump-inducing album to date.
  • BOB ANDY – Having become firmly established as one of Jamaica’s premier singer-songwriters in the ‘60s and early ’70s, Bob Andy cemented his place in the pantheon of musical greats with his seminal album, ‘Lot Of Love And I’. Originally released in 1977 on Sonia Pottinger’s High Note label, the LP has since become widely acclaimed as one of the most musically accomplished collections of the roots era, as Andy, backed by some of Kingston’s finest musicians, demonstrates the range of his talents with ten sublime original compositions, including the popular title track, ‘Revelation’, ‘Unchain Me’ and the celebrated ‘Ghetto Stays In The Mind’. Now, 44 years after its original release, ‘Lots Of Love And I’ is finally issued on CD, with its track-listing augmented by four bonus cuts, two of which have remained unreleased until now. If you only ever buy one roots reggae release in your life, this should be it.
  • KIM SALMON – new single from the Godfather of Grunge
  • SHANNON & THE CLAMS – a fantastic new album called Year of the Spider , the band’s sixth studio album, rages against death and disease with the power of a thousand angry Ronettes. Songs like “All Of My Cryin’,” “Mary, Don’t Go,” and “Year Of The Spider,” pulse with girl-group elegance and punk ferocity. On a Clams record, you always get both.
  • BRIAN EATON – his third full-length album, The Known Space Project, comes out on Friday, September 17 via his label, Eatin’ Records. Though a bit of a departure from his usual vocal rock sound, Eaton is no stranger to jazz/fusion. The new instrumental album consists of nine original compositions showcasing the multiinstrumentalist’s diversity as a multi-genre artist.
  • MOFF SKELLINGTON – a tasty treat from the Thorny Conduits album
  • THE MURLOCS – On their fifth album ‘Bittersweet Demons’, The Murlocs share a collection of songs reflecting on the people who leave a profound imprint on our lives, the saviors and hellraisers and assorted other mystifying characters. From the 11 infectious tracks emerges a beautifully complex body of work, one that shines a light on the fragilities of human nature while inducing the glorious head rush that accompanies any Murlocs outing.
  • JED – the first single from the forthcoming album “Hi Tech Low Life”
  • CICCADA – A band from Athens, Greece – The music of Ciccada is a mix of rock, jazz, folk and the Western European legacy from the middle-ages to 20th century. It is mainly influenced by bands and artists of the classic 70s progressive rock era, in the likes of Gentle Giant, Gryphon and Renaissance
  • LEE “SCRATCH” PERRY – R.I.P. – from Black Ark In Dub

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s