Aural Delights on the Overflow 72

  • 2 Lost Souls – Qanon – Single (2021)
    • Seduced and emboldened  by internet conspiracy theories outlandish enough to brighten the dullness of their tragically empty lives,  a group is formed, pledged to secrecy but desperate for publicity too ,  it spreads dangerous misinformation through its tentacles which reach ever and ever further into the human cesspits where dumb bigoted patriots exist.  Their  poster boy is a freakish orange man who advocates bleach be administered intravenously to cure the sick ,  it is believed this ignoramus will save the world from evil lizards, he  calls them to gather at a hootenanny on the lawn of the residence he has recently been evicted from  , his minions flock from all across the USA  to  heed the call , they’re going to raise hell , they dress to kill .
  • Dave Graney and the mistLY – Saturday Night Bath – Single (2021)
    • Recorded at RMIT TV studios. A new version of a song originally recorded in 2005 for the double album HASHISH and LIQUOR. A song about being apart from the world yet totally within it. …Dave Graney on electric guitar, and vocals, Clare Moore on drums, Stu Thomas on bass, Stuart Perera on electric guitar. Languid, steamy jazz pop played into the machines all live in a studio. No overdubs just a tight beat combo playing together. In the hot tub groove.
  • RJ Archer and the Painful Memories – Who Am I Supposed To Love Now – Single (2021)
    • R.J. Archer & the Painful Memories are a hard rock band from Cambridgeshire formed in July 2019 by old friends – Richard Archer (guitar, vocals), Roger James (bass) and Ben Kingsbury (drums). They count Creedence, ZZ Top and Bonnie Raitt amongst their influences. Temporarily thwarted by a pandemic, they are finally finishing their debut album ‘Hot Mess’ and released the lead single ‘Who Am I Supposed To Love Now’ through Spotify, Apple and all the usual places on 14th June 2021.
  • Scenius – Some Of Your Nights (Black Boiler Remix) – Single (2021)
    • French electronic artist Black Boiler revisits Some Of Your Nights from Scenius’ debut album. He boils it down to its core and chorus and blends his own signature elements – echoed glitches, spooky hooks and infectious beats – into this hypnotic abstract-dub version. It was available on all major stream and download sites from 18th June
  • Little Shoes – Humble – Ambushed By A Vacuum (2021)
    • Originally released in 2005 this album was one of the rare projects where Moff Skellington used a band name and other musicians for one of his recordings. The album was made in collaboration with Demmy James. Originally released by Uterus Cottage this was the third album made by Moff. One of the more experimental of Moff’s releases with less of a folk element than usual this includes elements of electronica, musique concrete and ambience. This is the first time this release has been made available in digital format.
  • Cult of Dom Keller – Lyssa – They Carried the Dead in a U.F.O (2021)
    • Cult of Dom Keller released their fifth album, ‘They Carried The Dead In A U.F.O’, on May 21st via Fuzz Club Records. Since 2007 the British band have been leaving a trail of sonic fever dreams, dark psychedelia and experimentalism that beats with a heavy industrial heart and the forthcoming LP sees them conjuring their heaviest and most adventurous work to date. Channelling recent limitations and turning them to their advantage, Cult of Dom Keller found themselves radically altering their creative approach and morphing their sound into a whole new beast. On this album the band hone in on an industrial noise-rock sound that is pushed to the brink.
  • Rilo Kiley – Science vs Romance – Take Offs And Landings (2001)
    • Rilo Kiley’s debut full-length album, originally released in 2001 under the vanity label “Rilo Records,” then shortly thereafter on the independent label Barsuk Records. It was released for the first time on vinyl on March 15, 2011.
  • Iceburn – Dahlia Rides The Firebird (edit) – Asclepius (2021)
    • Asclepius is the new album from Iceburn, who return with their first new material in twenty years, with a Southern Lord release on 25th June 2021 including LP and digital formats. The rawness of Asclepius harks back to the days of their early records (such as Hephaestus), and fuses elements of metal, jazz, psychedelia, and rock with monolithic riffs, swirling harmonies, and a groove that are the cornerstones of their sound.
  • Slow Down Molasses – Son of Titantic – Minor Deaths (2021)
    • With Yuck splitting up earlier in the year, Canadian noise-outfit Slow Down Molasses have the remedy for a heart that’s still grieving in the wake of this news · Continuing from their highly praised comeback single Street Haunting, return with new track Son Of Titanic and announce new album Minor Deaths · The track signposts the grizzled and raucous post-punk direction to expect from Minor Deaths. · Drawing on a wildly diverse arsenal of influences such as Gang Of Four and Sonic Youth, Minor Deaths iterates a sound steeped in existential dread and simmering guitar rock
  • Family – In My Own Time – Riding the Rock Machine: British Seventies Classic Rock (2021)
  • The Sensational Alex Harvey Band – Boston Tea Party – Riding the Rock Machine: British Seventies Classic Rock (2021)
  • Kaya Street – Fire In The Street (Clean Edit) – Dark Light (2021)
    • Bristol-based rebel producer Kaya Street is taking his atmospheric blend of dub reggae/world fusion to create his debut EP Dark|Light 2020. A dark, bass driven ride through the apocalyptic events of 2020, Dark|Light 2020 is a sharp account of current global affairs and a passionate rebuke to rising global nationalism and regressive forces. Made remotely during lockdown, Dark|Light 2020 features musicians and singers from across the world: Nigeria, Argentina, America, Germany, Canada, Cuba, Jamaica, Spain, France, Poland and the UK. The songs deal with themes of political protests, climate change, surveillance capitalism, state terrorism, culture wars, toxic vanity, media manipulation, progressive internationalism and pandemic exposed worldwide inequalities. After a chance online meeting the album was Mixed and Mastered by legendary Canadian reggae producer, DUBMATIX, and features prolific French Horn section Booom Hornz, featuring Tribuman, and vocals from rising Nigerian star Churemi .
  • Midnight Chic – Lost Cause – Single (2021)
    • The debut single from Newcastle’s Midnight Chic, who’s aim is to celebrate the heady and hedonistic heyday of rock and roll. 
  • Tim Buckley – Green Rocky Road (Live at The Carousel Ballroom, San Francisco, CA, 6/16/1968) – Bear’s Sonic Journals: Merry-Go-Round At The Carousel (2021)
    • This is the most important Tim Buckley release since Dream Letter, featuring a singular performance with a jazz-rock lineup that calls to mind Van Morrison’s Astral Weeks. Buckley, father of Jeff Buckley, made his mark with his Southern California folk-rock sound and four-octave vocal range. But this rich weave of accessible, warm, improvisational music reveals Buckley in a light never before captured on tape, including two newly discovered songs (“Blues, Love” and “The Lonely Life”), early drafts of Buckley classics, and a stunning cover of Fred Neil’s “Merry-Go-Round.” Recorded by the Grateful Dead’s legendary soundman Owsley “Bear” Stanley, the infamous LSD chemist, this is one of the treasures of his Sonic Journal archive. Buckley’s performance is incredible and Bear’s thumbprint on the sonics is part of the magic!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s