Aural Delights on the Overflow 68

  1. Horsemeat “Ruined” Single (2021)
  2. Grave Flowers Bongo Band “Lazy River” from Strength of Spring (2021)
  3. Balmorhea “Rose In Abstract” from The Wind (2021)
  4. The NJE “Five Years” from Nought to 60 (2021)
  5. John Lee Hooker “Crawlin’ King Snake” from King of the Boogie (2017)
  6. Moff Skellington “My Savage Grandma” from Owlish Perspicacity (2021)
  7. Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell “Do So Yol (Gather The Wind)” from Burn (2021)
  8. Blokeacola “And There’s More” from Blokeacola (2020)
  9. Other Mirror “Cat Scratch” from Other Mirror (2021)
  10. Alquin “Mr. Barnum Jr.’s Magnificent And Fabulous City (Part One) – Live Excerpt” from Marks (1972)
  11. Zane Carney “Alter” from Alter Ego (2021)
  12. Man “C’mon” from Be Good to Yourself at Least Once a Day (1972)

  • Horsemeat – new single
  • Grave Flowers Bongo Band – Los Angeles’ Grave Flowers Bongo Band’s sophomore LP “Strength of Spring” captured by Ty Segall
  • Balmorhea – The Wind marks both a return to Balmorhea’s original set-up and a new beginning for the Texas-based duo of Rob Lowe and Michael A. Muller. Addressing their concerns for the way in which climate change is continuing unabated, and reflecting the solace that so many people are now finding in connecting with the natural environment, the album is a timely reflection on the need to cherish and protect our planet.
  • The NJE – This mini-album by The Near Jazz Experience highlights the band’s hypnotic improv grooves, salutes a pop hero and explores new ground in the shape of electronic beats and live sound manipulation. But never mind all that. It sounds great – just what you’d expect from Terry Edwards (PJ Harvey, Mike Garson), Mark Bedford (Madness, BUtterfield 8) and Simon Charterton (The Higsons, Alex Harvey).
  • John Lee Hooker – John Lee Hooker began performing “Crawling King Snake” early in his career and included it in his sets after arriving in Detroit, Michigan in the early 1940s. In an interview, Hooker explained that he adapted Tony Hollins’ song: “I got that ‘Crawling King Snake’ from him [Hollins]”. Hooker first recorded the song in Detroit on February 18, 1949 for producer Bernard Besman. When it was released by Los Angeles-based Modern Records, “Crawling King Snake” became one of Hooker’s most successful singles, reaching number six on the Billboard R&B chart in 1949. Hooker recorded several subsequent versions of the song, including one with Rolling Stones guitarist Keith Richards for Hooker’s 1991 album Mr. Lucky.
  • Moff Skellington – from the recent re-released album
  • Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell – best known for their work as part of the legendary band Dead Can Dance, present the studio album ‘Burn’. Produced by James Chapman (MAPS), this long-play is being released via Atlantic Curve, a London-based label that is part of the Schubert Music Europe. The record began its journey more than seven years ago, when Lisa met Irish theatre composer Jules Maxwell before working together for the first time. Things really took root when Gerrard and Maxwell began writing songs for their earlier collaboration ‘The Mystery Of The Bulgarian Voices (Le Mystère des Voix Bulgares)’. They were later introduced to Chapman and asked him to produce this album, which represents a stunning departure for all three of them.
  • Blokeacola – his debut album
  • Other Mirror – Other Mirror was formed by longtime friends, Jonny Cuba (Soundsci Producer), Amelie Chevalier (vocalist), and James Tilley (multi-instrumentalist). In 2018, the band found themselves creating music together, for a project that they had talked about starting since becoming school friends many years prior. Although this is the band’s debut album and debut on KingUnderground, the members who make up the group are far from newcomers.
  • Alquin – Alquin was a Dutch progressive rock band which released four studio albums in the 1970s. The band split in 1977. They made a comeback in 2003 and in September 2005 they released a new album. The featured track is from their debut album
  • Zane Carvey – “Alter Ego” embodies an adventurous new wave of free improvisation, along with modal jazz in its most electric, high-octane form. The album features a series of improvised compositions, experiments, and sketches, as well as two rearranged standards. It consists mostly of first takes, with no editing, and aims to subvert convention. In addition, all tracks were mixed from the drummer’s perspective, placing the listener in the middle of the live action, on stage with the group. The album features Jerry Watts Jr. on bass, Gene Coye on drums, and Katisse Buckingham on woodwinds, and was released on April 30, 2021 on Orenda Records.
  • Man – the seventh album by the Welsh psychedelic/progressive rock band. Issued just two months after the previous album, Live at the Padget Rooms, Penarth, it features a radically different line-up. Martin Ace having left, and Deke Leonard having been fired, Clive John returned, bringing with him Phil Ryan and Will Youatt, with whom Clive had formed Iorwerth Pritchard and the Neutrons when he left Man in 1971. This is the only studio album by this particular line-up, which also recorded the live Christmas at the Patti before Clive John left again.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s