World of Jazz 438

  1. Vijay Iyer, Linda May Han Oh, Tyshawn Sorey “Children Of Flint” from Uneasy (ECM) 00:00
  2. Miguel de Armas “Angelique” from Continuous (Three Pines Records) 07:08
  3. Friendy “Aaron” from Friendy Fire (GSI Records) 12:02
  4. Tim Berne , Chris Speed, Reid Anderson ,Dave King “Broken Shadows” from Broken Shadows (Intakt) 21:31
  5. Graham Collier “Deep Blue Dark Centre” from Workpoints (Cuneiform) 27:16
  6. Vijay Iyer, Linda May Han Oh, Tyshawn Sorey “Touba” from Uneasy (ECM) 46:13
  7. Friendy “Beyond Sad” from Friendy Fire (GSI Records) 53:16
  8. Miguel de Armas “Eva Luna” from Continuous (Three Pines Records) 1:00:00
  9. Tom Rainey Obbligato “If I Should Lose You” from Untucked in Hannover (Intakt) 1:02:52
  10. Silke Eberhard Trio “U11” from Being the Up and Down (Intakt) 1:08:42
  11. Vijay Iyer, Linda May Han Oh, Tyshawn Sorey “Configurations” from Uneasy (ECM) 1:17:52
  12. Miguel de Armas “Gone Too Soon” from Continuous (Three Pines Records) 1:27:11
  13. Friendy “Power Song” from Friendy Fire (GSI Records) 1:32:46
  14. Tom Rainey Obbligato “Long Ago And Far Away” from Untucked in Hannover (Intakt) 1:41:12
  15. Tony Malaby “Jersey Merge Redux (edit)” from Turnpike Diaries Volume 2 (Bandcamp) 1:48:37

  • Vijay Iyer, Linda May Han Oh, Tyshawn Sorey – Uneasy, with Tyshawn Sorey and Linda May Han Oh, is Vijay Iyer’s second trio album on ECM and his seventh appearance as a leader on the label.
  • Miguel de Armas – Internationally renowned Cuban pianist Miguel de Armas moved to Canada in 2011, bringing with him a rich and sophisticated musical heritage gleaned over many years of study, performance and composition.
    • Core band is
    • Miguel de Armas – Piano, Keyboards, Compositions
    • Marc Decho – Bass
    • Michel Medrano Brindis – Drums
    • Diomer González – Congas
  • Friendy – Jerusalem/NYC contemporary jazz band, released their debut album, November 20th, 2020 on GSI Records. The band are Zohar Amar (sax), Noam Borns (piano), Daniel Ashkenazy (bass), and Shai Yuval (drums)
  • Broken Shadows Broken Shadows brings together four luminaries of the American jazz scene: Tim Berne, Chris Speed, Reid Anderson and Dave King. Broken Shadows has very strong connections, in twos. Saxophonists Tim Berne and Chris Speed have been playing together since 1992; Bassist Reid Anderson and drummer Dave King – two thirds of the legendary band The Bad Plus –have been playing together for over 35 years. Named after an Ornette Coleman composition, this all-star project honours the legacy of the music of their idols and mentors Ornette Coleman, Dewey Redman, Charlie Haden and Julius Hemphill. Recorded and mixed by Marc Urselli May 21st and 22nd 2018 at East Sound NYC, New York. First released 2019 vinyl only
  • Graham Collier – Workpoints consists of two previously unreleased concerts from ‘a golden age of British jazz’: one from 1968 and one from 1975. The music is composed with lots of room for contributions from the individual players, and in that regard, might be comparable to the work of one of Graham’s heroes, Charles Mingus. The album features a huge number of well known jazz musicians, such as: Harry Beckett, Mike Gibbs, Karl Jenkins, Frank Ricotti, Henry Lowther, John Marshall, John Surman, Art Themen, Kenny Wheeler and others.
  • Tom Rainey Obbligato – released April 16, 2021
    • Ralph Alessi: Trumpet
    • Ingrid Laubrock: Saxophones
    • Jacob Sacks: Piano
    • Drew Gress: Bass
    • Tom Rainey: drums
  • Recorded October 15th, 2018 by NDR, Jens Kunze, at Jazz Club Hannover.
  • Silke Eberhard – “Being the Up And Down”, Silke Eberhard’s new CD with her trio with Jan Roder on bass and Kay Lübke on drums was recorded both in the studio as well as at a live concert at the A-Trane in Berlin. This was the result of her winning the prestigious Berlin Jazz Prize, which affords the winner the honor of playing a concert and getting some recording days by Radio Berlin Brandenburg. Thus on this disc you hear a seamless blend of studio and live performances. The artwork on the cover, as on her previous Intakt release The Being Inn, is by Roman Signer, one of the most prestigious Swiss artists of today. The American jazz critic Lynn René Bayley writes in the liner notes: “Yet whether being sensual or being edgy and experimental, there is so much to like and so much to hear in Silke Eberhard’s playing both solo and when interacting with this trio that one is held spellbound from first note to last. Small wonder that she has such a high reputation in the German jazz world!” Released May 21st on Intakt
  • Tony Malaby – here’s a type of Kung Fu one needs to drive in New Jersey. Hidden signs, many types of drivers with constantly changing velocities that are ahead, behind, and alongside one at all times. It’s very similar to this first track that I am calling Jersey Merge Redux (I have used this title before). I hope you can feel the Kung Fu as I did – unbelievable flow and intelligence from Michael and Mark. Enjoy. T
    • released April 2, 2021
    • Tony Malaby – Tenor and Soprano Saxophones
    • Michael Formanek – Bass
    • Mark Ferber – Drums
    • Recorded and Mixed by Randy Thaler
    • Mastered by Eivind Opsvik
    • Cover by Tim Berne
    • Recorded on November 10, 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s