Mutual Aid Music

This set of eight ensemble concertos sprouts from a compositional system that asks musicians to question what they add to the ensemble as human beings first and musicians second. Rather than the traditional aim of faithfully reproducing a score through its mastery, the members of the ensemble are prompted to make decisions that purposely force the music away from facsimile and toward a spontaneity that may feel awkward and uncomfortable. Each supports each in the search for something new and interesting; a music that is not only greater than the compositional whole, but has the potential to recast the way we think about the balance of virtuosity and improvisational spirit in our practice. After all, if we, as an ensemble can enjoy jumping off musical cliffs together within the relative safety of this compositional system, then what’s to stop us from trying to find that same exhilaration in the other music we make?

It was released April 16, 2021 on Pleasure of the Text Records

The featured musicians are

Nate Wooley – Trumpet
Ingrid Laubrock – Sax
Joshua Modney – Violin
Mariel Roberts – Cello
Sylvie Courvoisier – Piano
Cory Smythe – Piano
Matt Moran – Vibraphone
Russell Greenberg – Vibraphone and Percussion

To be featured on World Jazz 440

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s