World of Jazz 436

  1. Devin Gray “Think About It” from Melt All The Guns (Rataplan Records) 00:00
  2. Camila Nebbia and Axel Filip “Intransigente” from Colibri Rojo (ears&eyes) 04:30
  3. Ivo Perelman & Matthew Shipp “Track 01” from Procedural Language (SMP) 07:34
  4. Behn Gillece “Rattles” from Still Doing Our Thing (Positone) 15:19
  5. Hugh Hopper Band “Shuffle Demons” from Carousel (Cuneiform) 20:57
  6. The WHO Trio : Michel Wintsch, Gerry Hemingway, Bänz Oester “The Mooche” from Strell (Clean Feed) 28:48
  7. Devin Gray “Jet Lag Party” from Melt All The Guns (Rataplan Records) 36:30
  8. Ivo Perelman & Matthew Shipp “Track 02” from Procedural Language (SMP) 39:54
  9. Camila Nebbia and Axel Filip “Volada” from Colibri Rojo (ears&eyes) 43:44
  10. Behn Gillece “Event Horizon” from Still Doing Our Thing (Positone) 46:29
  11. Devin Gray “Protect Our Environment” from Melt All The Guns (Rataplan Records) 53:06
  12. Ivo Perelman & Matthew Shipp “Track 03” from Procedural Language (SMP) 56:16
  13. Peter Brötzmann, Maâllem Mokhtar Gania, Hamid Drake “Almost With The Sun” from The Catch Of A Ghost (I Dischi Di Angelica) 1:00:51
  14. Hugh Hopper Band “Lux Beta” from Carousel (Cuneiform) 1:12:03
  15. Behn Gillece “Don’t Despair” from Still Doing Our Thing (Positone) 1:19:12
  16. Camila Nebbia and Axel Filip “Ruinas” from Colibri Rojo (ears&eyes) 1:27:35
  17. Damon Locks Black Monument Ensemble “The Body Is Electric” from NOW (International Anthem) 1:30:24
  18. Marc Ducret Trio “Une peu d’histoire” from Trio Live at Stadtgarten (Bandcamp) 1:40:45
  19. Miles Davis “Jabali” from The Complete On The Corner Sessions (Sony Columbia) 1:51:00


Devin Gray

New album on Rataplan records with Ralph Alessi and Angelica Sanchez

Camila Nebbia and Axel Filip

For several years now, Camila Nebbia and Axel Filip have been sharing several musical projects, both their own and collaborative groups. At the same time, they started this duo project as a space for experimentation and building new shapes of sound and texture where free improvisation is the source of creation and interaction. This album is a reflection of a deep sound search between them. The album was recorded at the beginning of 2020 a couple of weeks before the quarantine. “Colibrí Rojo” expresses the volatile nature and life and the improvisation that it is in it. It is movement and complicity. (ears & eyes)

Ivo Perelman & Matthew Shipp

From the new box set on SMP – audio, a Blue-Ray DVD, and a book, Embrace of Souls by Belgian vocal artist Jean-Michel Van Schouwburg. Improvisations

Behn Gillece

Behn Gillece leads a great band on an exciting quartet date of brilliant performances. The band features veterans pianist Art Hirahara, bassist Boris Kozlov and drummer Rudy Royston. Melodically straight forward, elegantly lyrical and clearly suggestive of a modern jazz sensibility with hard-swinging highlights. (Posi-tone)

Hugh Hopper

Hugh Hopper : bass
Patrice Meyer : guitar
Frank van der Kooij : sax
Dionys Breukers : keyboards
Kim Weemhoff : drums
Robert Jarvis : trombone (on second track)

released January 1, 1994 0n Cuneiform

Recorded March 12-13, 1994 at Elsewhere Studio, Whitstable, UK

The WHO Trio

In 2018 it will have been twenty years that the WHO trio has toured internationally, exploring a music between composition and improvisation, continually developing a singular language common to it’s three members. Now this collective language has reached a level of maturity where it seems possible to touch something that the trio holds dear and which has an important place in a shared musical culture: the music of Billy Strayhorn and Duke Ellington. (2020 release on Clean Feed) – Michel Wintsch, Gerry Hemingway, Bänz Oester

Peter Brötzmann, Maâllem Mokhtar Gania, Hamid Drake

Peter Brötzmann: tenor saxophone, tarogato
Maâlem Moukhtar Gania: guembri, voice
Hamid Drake: drums

Music by Peter Brötzmann, Maâlem Moukhtar Gania, Hamid Drake
released April 20, 2020

Producer – Executive Producer: Massimo Simonini

Recorded on May 10th, 2019, by Roberto Salvati at Centro di Ricerca Musicale / Teatro San Leonardo, Bologna, Italy, during AngelicA, International Music Festival, twenty-nine years, 2019

Damon Locks Black Monument Ensemble

Damon Locks & Black Monument Ensemble’s new album “NOW” was created in the final throes of Summer 2020, following months of pandemic-induced fear & isolation, the explosion of social unrest, struggle & violence in the streets, and as the certain presence of a new reality had fully settled in. Set up safely in the garden behind Chicago’s Experimental Sound Studio, the music was recorded in only a few takes, capturing the first times members of BME had ever played or sang the tunes. For Locks, the impetus was more about getting together to commune and make art than it was about producing an album.

released April 9, 2021

Angel Bat Dawid – clarinet
Ben LaMar Gay – cornet & melodica
Dana Hall – drums
Damon Locks – samples & electronics
Arif Smith – percussion

Phillip Armstrong
Monique Golding
Tramaine Parker
Richie Parks
Erica Rene
Eric Tre’von

Marc Ducret

Bruno Chevillon – double bass
Eric Echampard – drums
Marc Ducret – electric guitar
released March 11, 2007

Recorded live in Köln, Germany on March 11th, 2007.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s