Freya is the seventh album from Dutch saxophonist Tineke Postma. Her first since 2014, Freya is a come-back album as a leader. Following an acclaimed international career, including work with legends Herbie Hancock and Wayne Shorter, Tineke’s Freya represents a fresh start with a new label, reinvigorated energy and an exciting band that is collectively inspired by the experiences she has gathered throughout her career. Together with trumpeter Ralph Alessi, bassist Matt Brewer, drummer Dan Weiss and featuring pianist Kris Davis, Tineke makes music that is adventurous, empowering and full of risk-taking.

The album artwork is by Chicago based artist Chad Kouri. Chad created this piece exclusively for Tineke, inspired by the music of this album.

The album was released on March 20, 2020

Tineke Postma – alto and soprano sax
Ralph Alessi – trumpet
Kris Davis – piano
Matthew Brewer – double bass and electric bass
Dan Weiss – drums

Produced by Tineke Postma
Recorded at Oktaven Audio, LLC, 35 Grove St, Mt Vernon, NY 10550, USA December 22nd, 2018
Studio Engineer Ryan Streber
Mixed by Dave Darlington
Mastered by Dave Darlington at Bass Hit Recording, NY

Edition Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s