Ascension is the debut album from bassist and composer Robert Lee, one of the most exciting new artists on the Canadian jazz scene. Lee’s music is a compelling hybrid of modern chamber music, jazz, and contemporary folk.

This album is inspired by the bands of Brian Blade and Christian McBride; the intimate songwriting of artists like Bon Iver and Iron & Wine; and the emotionally provocative films of the great Hayao Miyazaki. Lee’s songs are inspired by deeply personal stories and experiences.

The pieces Ascension, and Ethos are about the search for greater meaning in life. Love and a longing for human connection are central themes in the songs Day Dreams and Sleepless (with lyrics penned by Lee.) Emerald, Cardinal on the Cobblestone, and Wild Wind are heavily influenced by film music, and by Lee’s fascination with the relationship between image and sound. Lee also drew from a variety of musical genres and sounds to create truly modern compositions like Eclipse, Pulp Fiction, and Burton’s Bounce.

Ascension is an auspicious debut by an exciting new musical voice, featuring many of Canada’s finest young improvising musicians. The album will be released worldwide on Friday, April 10th, 2020. An album release celebration will be held at Heliconian Hall in Toronto on April 17th, 2020.

  • Robert Lee – Bass
  • Mingjia Chen – Voice
  • Caity Gyorgy – Voice
  • Allison Au – Alto Saxophone
  • Trevor Giancola – Guitar
  • Augustine Yates – Piano
  • Geoff Claridge – Clarinet
  • Michael Davidson – Vibraphone, Crotales
  • Jacob Wutzke – Drums

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s